Prefects at DHS

The DHS Prefect system dates back to the first few years of the school, nearly 150 years ago.

Prefects fulfil a vital role at the school: they act as role-models to the rest of the learner body, they provide leadership to the boys, and they help maintain the ethos and traditions of Durban High School… as well as helping to maintain discipline in a large school in which members of staff cannot be everywhere at once!

There is a rigorous selection procedure for prefectship. To qualify for consideration, the boys must have completed their community service in Grades 8, 9, 10 and 11, and must have been appointed as mentors in their Grade 11 year. Every applicant is interviewed by a panel of senior staff. Every boy in the school votes for the prefects of their choice. Every member of staff indicates whether they strongly support, are neutral, or strongly disapprove of every candidate on the list, providing reasons for their choice. All of this information is put together into a selection matrix, and the Prefect selection panel then makes their choices.

The body consists of one Head Prefect, two Deputy Prefects and between 23 and 28 prefects. At DHS we have been very fortunate to have Head Prefects of outstanding calibre.

School Prefects for 2019!


Head Prefect
Xhanti Njokweni

Deputy Head Prefects
Taariq Kruger
Connor Mack


Ethan Ballantine
Lwando Beja
Darren Booysen
Matthew Delderfield
Rogan Green
Pranav Harichand
Khayelihle Hlomuka
Steven Jamarie
Lulama Khoza
Eli Louis
Caillin Mathys
God’swill Mbonambi
Sibusiso Mpanza
Siyanda Myeni
Lindumkhosi Ndlovu
Nhlakanipho Nene
Taine Owen
Sinolan Pather
Thirushan Pather
Joshua Reddy
Jaden Robert
Seluleko Sabela
Mohammed Shaikjee
Jonathan Shore
Vidhan Singh

Blackmore House Prefects

Head Prefect:
Xhanti Njokweni

Taariq Kruger
Nhlakanipho Nene

Darren Booysen
Matthew Delderfield
Steven Jamarie
Setjaba Mathuse
Lindumkhosi Ndlovu
Siphesihle Shezi

House Prefects

Head of House: Joshua Reddy
Prefects: Khayelihle Hlomuka and Pranav Harichand

Head of House: Taine Owen
Prefects: God’swill Mbonambi and Siyanda Myeni

Head of House: Connor Mack
Prefects: Eli Louis and Jonathan Shore

Head of House: Ethan Ballantine
Prefects: Thirushan Pather and Bhongolethu Thembe

Head of House: Rogan Green
Prefects: Lulama Khoza and Sibusiso Gift Mpanza

D6 Communicator